Sunday, February 6, 2011

Spectator

I hear that the Packers won over the Steelers.  I hear that Christina Aguilera messed up the National Anthem and that the Black Eyed Peas gave a less than ground breaking performance at the Halftime show. 

I didn't see a moment of it and that has caused absolutely no upset to my peace of mind.  I saw the men at the shelter today getting ready to get ready for "The Big Game"...people were already drawing lines in the sand.  I got dressed for church.  Then at church people were talking about what Superbowl parties that they were having/going to.  After church me and a group of guys went down to Forsythe Park to feed the Homeless like we do most every Sunday.  While we were there a few people talked about who they wanted to win the game, I talked to men who were struggling to get on their feet and congratulated them for their first, tentative steps back to normalcy as they did to me as well. Then I caught the free shuttle and came in to work.
 At work I chided some of the workers here for not having the game on and having snacks on hand.

But when someone (again) asked me who I wanted to win the Superbowl and my reply came out the same as it has been for the last couple of years..."you know, I really couldn't care less."

No, this is not going to be one of those preachy posts about how we could spend our time money and efforts on better things than some big blowout to make a bunch of other people rich.  I didn't tell you what I did to come off as "holier-than-thou" all “see what I did today” to make you feel bad.  I just want you to think about something, though.  At the end of the day, especially if your team lost, was it worth it?  Was it worth the preparation and the overspending and the stress? 

To many of you, I would say...it may have been.  If only for the opportunity to share these moments with friends and family...focused on a common purpose and goal.  That is a great feeling to have to go to bed with.  That is a feeling that can bring some warmth to you.  

Now what I am going to say next is...why not carry that feeling with you out of the vicarious, living through someone else's, realm, and gather your friends and family and volunteer at the local Homeless shelter next weekend, clean up the yard of an elderly neighbor, pick up the trash on your block, give some tutoring help to disadvantaged kids...not as an individual but as a group...the same group that gave their time to watch men in colorful uniforms throw themselves at each other, come throw yourself into this.  Make a plan, make a pact that sometime within the next month you all are going to get together again and do something more for your community and for yourselves. I guarantee that you will sleep warmer and feel better that night as you lay down for sleep after that day, than you have in a while…even after tonight. 

Come on, get IN the game...Heck, you can even eat Buffalo Wings afterwards if you want to!

Rize ...On the Beach

 Just wanted to send out a little message about breaking through this morning from the movie "Rize"...enjoy!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWp3kfg0yzY